Wednesday, 12 August 2020

General Information The East African Trade Union Confederation (EATUC) was established in 1988 and currently is com-posed of the Central Organization of Trade Unions (COTU-K) — Kenya, the National Organization of Trade Unions (NOTU) — Uganda, Zanzibar Trade Union Congress (ZATUC) and the Trade Union Congress of Tanzania (TUCTA). In July 2007, EATUC membership was extended to the National Trade Union Federations from Burundi (COSYBU) and Rwanda (CESTRAR). EATUC enjoys an observer status within the EAC structures.

EATUC ‘s main goal is to integrate workers’ interests and efforts in the East African region with a view to develop a common approach towards enhancing social and economic justice through the participation of workers’ organizations at all levels of the regional integration.

As a regional workers’ body, EATUC is instrumental in ensure integration, establish tribunal as an important mechanism of consultation and dialogue, promote the ratification of international labor standards by the partner states, promote the integration of youth and women in all spheres of socio-economic development, promote the decent work agenda, harmonization of labor laws and policies in East Africa and promote the concept of free movement of factors of production in the region.

The organizational structure is composed of the Summit which is the highest organ of the confederation and meets at least once in a year, a committee of experts which meets in regular sessions and the secretariat which is headed by the Executive Secretary and in charge of the day to day activities of the EATUC.


Userful Links

Who's Online

We have 8 guests and no members online